-253

Some background.

I finally committed to a race. I have wanted to run a race for years and I always sort of figured it would be a Race for the Cure kind of thing or maybe the Richmond Ukrops’ 10K annual race, but each time I would decide “this is the race I am going to run,” I would check the date and it would be up against an SCA event, or I would decide the $35, $40, $70, $99 registration fee was more than we could afford, or I would decide it would be too crowded for my personal comfort (crowds freak me out a bit), or I would just convince myself there was no way my fat ass could run 3.1, 5.2, or however many miles.

Facebook ran ads for the Warrior Dash this week, and because I know of the WD and considered running it last year, (and here comes the excuse: except that the closest one was in Pennsylvania and it was too far to drive) I decided to click on the link. Warrior Dash – in Virginia – in October (best time of year to run) – an hour and a half from my house – only $40. Is it up against an SCA event? Sure, but damnit, running a race is either a priority or it isn’t. I have been to dozen (hundreds?) of SCA events in the past decade. I can skip ONE for something I have wanted to do for years.

Anyway, all my excuses dried up and I signed up.

More background.

One year ago, on January 14, 2010, I underwent gastric bypass, at a weight of 270 pounds and a BMI of 43. On my one year surgery anniversary, last Friday, I weighed 151 pounds. Negative 119 pounds, but let’s just round up and call it 120. My BMI is in the “Normal” range. It is a modern medical miracle, and I am deeply thankful and in awe of my new life.

How does one celebrate losing about 45% of their total body weight? It shouldn’t be with a fancy dinner out; celebrating weight lost by eating is counter-intuitive. It shouldn’t be with a glass (or 2 or 3) of alcohol. I am not interested in new clothes (I have had more new clothes in the past 12 months than in the past decade combined), new shoes, or a new hair style (I love my hair). A manicure/pedicure doesn’t appeal to me in any way. Those things are just not who I am.

Losing 120 pounds has given me my life back. It has given me the ability to move and taken away the pain I used to suffer when I did. So it seems to me that the best way to celebrate losing almost half of my body weight is to use that new found freedom and ability, and do something crazy and fun with it, which is why I have chosen the Warrior Dash.

I have lost a lot of weight, but now I have to rebuild muscle I have lost, build speed and, frankly, endurance on my runs, and find the confidence to “put myself out there.” I am highly competitive to the point of being actually afraid of losing, and the likelihood of winning my age division is poor, so I have to confront some deep rooted personality issues to conquer this race, too.

The purpose of this blog is to track my training, my successes, my failures, and hopefully work out some confidence issues along the way.

1/20/11 Training * Weight – 151
Power Yoga – 25 minutes

Training Notes: I have NO balance whatsoever. I chose power yoga for the stretching aspect of it since the two previous nights I had done strength training workouts and one short run, and thought yoga would help alleviate some soreness. Plus, I need to build some balance to “Walk the Plank.”

Leave a Reply

