Added Urgency

“A little voice inside my head said ‘Don’t look back, you can never look back.'”

Training for a 5k that is still 6 months away has not felt very urgent. This week, I signed up for another 5k that does come with a sense of urgency.

Two weeks kind of urgency.

I had seen ads for a 5k in the area called the Superhero Run. Being a family of geeks, we all enjoy our superheros and comic books, and it appealed to me, but I assumed it was up against an out of town SCA event. Turns out, it is up against a local SCA event the following week, which meant it was doable. It benefits the local CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocates) program, which assists children in abusive situations.

Grace and her Daddy will dress up for the Kids Run, and I have signed up for the 5k run (no costume for me).

I am not concerned about being competitive; no race winner here yet, but I do want to finish and I want to finish strong. My goal is for a 30 minute run. I did a run last Saturday at 31:20, so I am not too far away, but I have some work to do.

I wonder if it is reasonable to think I can pull a minute and a half off my time in 2 weeks? And if so, what do I have to do to accomplish that goal?

I am running to Belle Isle and back today.

Leave a Reply

