Minus 11 Days

Went for my longest run ever today, going all the way past the quarry on Belle Isle. Did a little less than 3.5 miles in 35:40. My time would have been faster, I think, but I was struck quite seriously by the dreaded “runner’s plague.” I haven’t suffered from that since my early days of Couch to 5K training last Spring. I blame the high fiber black bean soup I had yesterday, plus 20 ounces of coffee at breakfast and 32 ounces of water in the hour before my run. That was miserable and something I will go out of my way to avoid next Saturday.

A pace of 11:13 and average speed of 5.3 MPH is…well, it is what it is. It certainly is not the 9:59 pace I was hoping for, but I am not devastated by that pace either given the long distance (for me) and the intestinal distress I suffered causing me to slow (and even consider stopping when I got back by the Blackfin and using their facilities) down quite a bit.

I am anxious about the rest of the week and my ability to train. Tomorrow I have a dentist’s appointment that I presume will be a quite evaluation, ending with “Yup, you need a root canal. Come see me again on Friday.” Thursday, I have the day off to watch Grace. Maybe my in-laws will visit and I can use the time to hit the trail at HGD Park. Friday will be spent potentially in the dentist’s chair undergoing a root canal and then travelling south to Mebane, NC. I think that will have to be my rest day; I just cannot see pounding the pavement after a root canal.

This weekend will be spent at an SCA event. The hotel we are in has a fitness center which I hope to take advantage of at least on Saturday evening, and maybe again on Sunday morning before we leave.

I am thrilled to say we hit our fundraising goal and then some thanks to the enormous generosity of our friends and my coworkers. I never expected that we could actually raise $200 but we did and then some. I am humbled by it all and it makes me want to work that much harder to run a race worthy of their generosity.

Leave a Reply

