-158

Only 158 days to the Warrior Dash. Don’t think I have forgotten that.

So, catching up on my training:

Sunday: attempted a 2 mile run at the school but fell flat after half a mile, most likely due to dehydration.

Monday: intended a 2 mile run that turned into 2.75 miles because I felt so good and strong.

Tuesday- Cross training – climbed from the first to the 10th floor of my building twice in the stairwell, then went on a 1.7 mile powerwalk.

Since joining the Battle of the Bulge challenge team at work, I have been highly committed to getting my 30 minutes of activity in, in theory 3 times a week, but I want to earn those bonus points for doing even more. I do not want to be the weakest link on my team.

I’m not. I am logging my food religiously and making sure I get activity in so that I have something to log. One of my teammates is in Colorado at a ski resort, so her access is spotty at best, but she logs when she can and she has really been able to rack up the fitness points. Another one (the marathoner on my team) gave up logging after one big splurge at Bottoms Up Pizza. I talked him back into the game and he started logging again this afternoon. I am proud both that he got back in and that I was able to encourage him.

The remaining member of the team is hit or miss with her logging.

I want to win this thing. My competitive streak is strong. They had no idea what they were getting into when they asked me. I don’t even know what we are “playing” for, what the prize is, but it doesn’t matter. I want to win. I want the bragging rights and I want that deep-seated smug sense of accomplishment that comes with doing something better than people around you who consistently underestimate you.

This challenge has helped me focus on my diet and activity level, and it has gotten me back into the habit of logging my food choices, which will please my nurse practitioner to no end. It is also easier to stay out of the candy bowl in one infamous office if you know you have to own up to eating 1, 2, or 5 pieces.

I really need to do some yoga tonight. I believe in the healing power of yoga now, though it is still not my favorite activity. My legs are going to hurt from the two trips up the 10 flights of stairs, and I want to run tomorrow. I think I will make tomorrow a short run, Thursday will be another cross-training day, and then Friday, I want to do a 3.5 mile run.

The other thing I really need to work on is picking up heavy objects repeatedly on a more regular basis, too.

Leave a Reply

