Overtrained and Underfed?

I have been dragging terribly all week; particularly since Saturday’s 10 mile run followed with the afternoon spent moving someone out of their house. No energy. No motivation. Monday’s twanged quadricep made me nervous but that seems to have panned out okay. Tuesday I did an awesome interval run, bumping up the speed a notch this time, but by 23 minutes (2.25 miles) I was out of gas. Period. Nothing left and my gut was cringing and I threw in the towel. Yesterday, I was exhausted but talked myself into dressing out. I did my 5 minute warm up and I was so miserable, I turned around and came back to work, head hanging in shame.

I suspect a little overtraining. I haven’t done the resting heartbeat test, but all of the rest of the symptoms are there. Irritability, decreased performance, decreased energy, lingering mild muscle soreness, and so forth.

So today, I rested. I might do some gentle yoga tonight but that is as far as I would push it today. Tomorrow, I will do my upper body workout, and Saturday, I will go run my 8 miles with the team, but today, I rest.

I have done a lot of reading on overtraining this week; I think a major contributor to my issues has been my diet. My diet is not bad. In fact, since the first of the year when I first started culling the extra junk from my diet, my diet has been pretty awesome. I was so proud because for a few weeks I tracked my calories, and I mean all of them, including liquid ones, and was finding myself taking in 1400-1600 calories a day, which is perfect for my weight, and which, from what I am reading, is not enough to support my high level of activity.

Estimates range, but what I see a lot of is that a 30 year old, 155 pound 5’7″woman, running about 20 miles per week (and not even including the weight lifting I have been doing), needs to be eating 2200-2400 calories per day to maintain energy levels.

Not so proud of those 1400-1600 calories a day now.

This is a conundrum for me. I tightened up my nutrition a bit too much, but at the same time, I am not sure exactly how to get even close to that number of calories in per day with a measuring cup sized pouch rather than a football sized stomach.

God help me, I think I am going to have to go back to Obesity Help’s fitness board and ask others how they manage.

Leave a Reply

