Back on My Feet

After an entire week spent recovering from the Cold of the Decade (not really, but that’s how it felt), and not having run the first step all week, I chose to skip the training team run and map out a longer route at home. I do love running in my neighborhood. It is familiar, there are some sidewalks, there are some very quiet sections, and if I got in a real bind, help would only be a short distance away.

Saturday, the wind was insane. It was at its worst along Cogbill Road in front of the high school there; the wind was so cold and blowing so hard, it made it very hard to breathe, similar to taking a cold shower, when you are gasping from the cold. It made for a much slower run than I was hoping for, but I was still happy with my results. 9.5 miles in 1:53 and some change. My pace was better than the 11 mile run the previous Saturday, but not tons better.

The best part was that I ran in my new Brooks for the first time. I was worried that 9.5 miles was too long for a first run in them, but they were great. For the second week in a row, I got a calf cramp, which this time progressed to soreness behind the knee. I don’t know if that behind the knee soreness was related to the heavier shoes, the fact that the left foot is the one that overpronates and these shoes stabilize that, or if it was something else entirely. Still, soreness or not, I loved the shoes and a 9.5 mile break in run did not hurt my feet in any way.

Yesterday, I lifted.

Leg Press: 3 sets, 10 reps, 170 pounds (woo! Up from 150)
Hamstring Curl: 3 x 10, 50# (I always feel like I am risking my lower back with this machine.)
Squats: 2 x10: 27# (slowly working my way back to a standard 45# barbell.)
Calf Raises: 3 x 10 holding a 35# dumbbell (up 5#).
Back Extension: 3 x 10 w/ a 15# dumbbell
Crunches: 2 x 15
Reverse Crunches: 2 x 10

Short, sweet, hard. I love lower body days. There isn’t anything complex about these workouts. I could add lunges, but I always feel like I am risking a knee injury with lunges.

Tuesdays are for speed and that means either more structured intervals or a less structured fartlek run; I’ll decide when I put my feet on the treadmill. My bootie is a little sore today from the increased weights on the leg press machine and my squats and the run will either improve that soreness or kick it into high soreness, but that will be okay. It just means I am getting stronger.

I am feeling so very much better than I did last week. Mentally better, physically more energetic, and physically stronger.

The countdown is on. The last long training run is this weekend. Someone has already posted a suggested 12 mile route and it takes me out way into the West End, past St. Mary’s hospital. It is a little mind blowing just how far 12 miles looks on a map.

I say…bring it on.

Leave a Reply

