Jackpot

7 degrees. That is what the temperature was at my house this morning when I got out of bed at 7 a.m. It also happens to be the 7th day of the month of January. This particular date just happens to be my birthday. 32 years old today. And 7 more days from now will be the 4th anniversary of my gastric bypass surgery.

Almost two years ago, I wrote a two part series about undergoing surgery and then the intervening years and experiences to that point. If you are feeling curious, you can find them at Part 1 and Part 2. Be warned, they aren’t short essays and a lot has transpired since then. If I can, I will try and write an update to them in the near future.

I was at my desk this morning, diddling around at my work with my Gmail account open in a window, though lowered into the taskbar at the bottom of the screen, when suddenly it went from reading Inbox to (3) Inbox. It is highly unusual to suddenly get 3 emails so I opened it immediately to discover 3 almost unintelligible subject headings.

imATHLETE – “Welcome to imATHLETE”

imATHLETE – “Your imATHLETE Purchase Confirmation”

At that point, I am thinking I have been scammed, hacked, or picked up a virus. Then I begin to get it when I read the subject header of the last one.

imATHLETE – “2014 Yuengling Shamrock Marathon, Anthem Half Marathon, TowneBank 8K, and Operation Smile Final Mile”

Confusion changed to shock. I hadn’t even opened one of the three emails yet, but I knew I had been registered for the Anthem Half Marathon (or better known as the Shamrock Half Marathon). And I knew instantly that Byram had been the one to do it. I got him on the phone and asked “What did you DO?!?” Happy Birthday, he said. He explained that he had arranged for Crash Space with our friends Rich and Genie in Virginia Beach, so no hotel hassle was necessary. He said he believed in me, that this would be a great experience, fun, and challenging. I’ll say. I have 65 days until my next race.

Today is the 7th, it was 7 degrees at 7 a.m. What happens when you turn up 777 in Vegas?

Jackpot.

Leave a Reply

